FAMILY ARMORY

LICENSE TO CARRY: LTC-100 & LTC-101

INTRODUCTION: LTC-100 & LTC-101

Depending on the method of education, students will either receive a LTC-100 or a LTC-101 after completing the state’s required instruction. When students with no LTC-101 form attend and pass the LTC class in person at Family Armory, they will receive a LTC-100 form. When students take and pass an online class from someone else, they will receive a LTC-101 form from them reflecting that they have completed the online training portion. Students who take an online class and receive form LTC-101 must still receive between 1-2 hours of range instruction as well as pass the shooting proficiency demonstration with one of our LTC instructors.

LTC-100: Classroom Training and Proficiency Demonstration

  • Student attends full class at Family Armory.

  • Student receives between 4-6 hours of classroom instruction.

  • Student demonstrates shooting proficiency at Family Armory with instructor.

  • Instructor provides LTC-100 form to student at end of class.

  • Student is responsible for uploading scan of their completed LTC-100 to Texas DPS.

Handgun Licensing

LTC-101: Online Training, Range Instruction, Shooting Proficiency Demonstration.

  • Student completes 4-6 hours of online instruction.

  • Student must complete 1-2 hours of range instruction with LTC instructor.

  • Student demonstrates shooting proficiency at Family Armory with instructor.

  • Instructor provides LTC-101 form after online instruction.

  • Student is still responsible for receiving 1-2 hours of range instruction.

  • Student must still demonstrate shooting proficiency in person with LTC instructor.

  • Student is responsible for uploading scan of their completed LTC-101 to Texas DPS.

Handgun Licensing FAQs

FEE STRUCTURE: LTC-100 vs. LTC-101

The fee structure for 100% in-person education at our facility differs from online instruction. While it might appear that online instruction is more economical at face value, one of Family Armory’s LTC instructors will need to be involved when completing both the range instruction (1-2 Hours) as well as the shooting proficiency demonstration. With this in mind, we have disclosed our fee structure for your consideration. In most cases, it would be most economical for a potential students with online education to attend a regularly scheduled LTC class with other in-person students. However, if attending a regularly scheduled class is not convenient, we have provided an alternate special-scheduled option.

1. State Fee

$40ea. student
  • Original fee or renewal fee.
  • Texas law provides for some discounts if you meet certain special conditions.

2. Fingerprint Fee

  • Administered by IdentoGo
  • Call (888) 467-2080 and provide Service Code: 119Q91.

3. Range Fee

$2000ea. student
  • Non-refundable & Non-transferrable.
  • Reserves spot in class.
  • Cash or Credit Accepted. No checks.
  • Pay over the phone or in person.
  • You need a customer profile with us already or have your Driver’s License handy when registering over the phone.

4a. Option 1. Instructor Fee

$100ea. student
  • LTC-100
  • Regular scheduled class.
  • For in-class education student.
  • Class time + shooting qualification.
  • Does not include each range fee.
  • Cash or check payable to instructor.
  • Payable on instruction date.

4b. Option 2. Instructor Fee

$150ea. student
  • LTC-101
  • Special scheduled instruction.
  • For online education student.
  • Range instruction + shooting qualification.
  • Does not include each range fee.
  • Cash or check payable to instructor.
  • Payable on instruction date.

4c. Option 3. Instructor Fee

$5000ea. student
  • LTC-101
  • Regular scheduled class.
  • For both online and in-class students.
  • Range instruction + shooting qualification.
  • Does not include each range fee.
  • Cash or check payable to instructor.
  • Payable on instruction date.

CLASS INFORMATION

INSTRUCTION FOR STUDENTS UNFAMILIAR WITH FIREARMS IS BEYOND THE SCOPE OF THE SHOOTING QUALIFICATION PORTION; 

 IT IS RECOMMENDED THAT NEW SHOOTERS VISIT THE RANGE SEVERAL DAYS BEFORE THEIR SHOOTING QUALIFICATION IN ORDER TO BECOME COMFORTABLE WITH THEIR FIREARM AND, IF REQUIRED, OBTAIN PERSONAL ONE-ON-ONE TRAINING WELL BEFORE THEIR CLASS DATE.

DOWNLOAD LTC-16

TEXAS LICENSE TO CARRY: A HANDGUN STATUTE & SELECTED LAWS RELATING TO THE USE AND CARRYING OF A HANDGUN

Texas Department of Public Safety document LTC-16 reflects a collection of handgun laws found throughout various sections of the law, e.g., the Penal Code, Government Code, Property Code, Education Code, etc. We recommend that students use this official document to refresh their familiarity with the Texas Laws
DOWNLOAD LTC-16

Class Description

The license to carry a firearm class is composed of two parts. Part one is class time where (A.) firearm safety, (B.) current Texas firearm laws, (C.) non-violent dispute resolution, and (D.) safe firearm storage are discussed. There will be a short test at the end of instruction of this material. Part two is the shooting qualification that happens on the range. Student will shoot 20 bullets at their target at a distance of 3 yards. Another 20 bullets will be shot at a distance of 7 yards. And the final 10 bullets will be shot at a distance of 15 yards. Students are expected to work through any malfunctions without assistance and demonstrate their ability to operate their firearm.

Please bring:

  • An operational firearm.
  • 50 bullets for your firearm.
  • Eye & ear protection.

Family Armory provides:

  • A cardboard target.
  • Rental firearms in case of malfunction.
  • A retail store to purchase ammunition.
  • A retail store to purchase safety gear.

Class Dates & Times

We typically host two (or more) classes each month: one class on a Saturday and one on a Sunday. Please call the gun range (432-279-1777) to get a current list of classes for the current month. Our LTC classes begin at 8AM and last until 1:30P-1:45P, depending on the number of students in the class. Classes run smoother when everyone knows how to operate their firearm and work through malfunctions. (Don’t let the LTC class be the first time and last time you touch a handgun, especially if you plan to carry it!)

CALL FAMILY ARMORY FOR LTC DATES 432-279-1777

Applying for the License

  1. Apply for your LTC through the TX DPS website. [STEP ONE LINK]
  2. Receive your classroom paper form:
    • Form LTC-100 is given at the end of in-person instruction.
    • Form LTC-101 is given at the end of online instruction.
      • Online instruction still requires 1-2 Hrs. of classroom range training prior to the shooting portion.
  3. Convert your paper form (either LTC-100 or LTC-100) to a .PDF, which is a digital file on your computer or phone.
    • You will need a scanner to do this on your PC; there are some phone applications from Apple or Google that will do this too. Using your phone means taking a photo of your paper form with your phone and later uploading the created .PDF file.
  4. Visit this link and from the drop down menu, select “* I want to:” “Submit Document(s) – Applicants Only (LTC-100, Supporting Documents)” [STEP FOUR LINK]
    • Note: It is here that you will upload your .PDF that you made back in Step #3, provided that you already started the application process with the State. If you took your class first, you still need to open up your application with the state before you will be allowed to upload your LTC-100 or LTC-101 form.
  5. Schedule an appointment with IdentoGO in order to get your fingerprints done. [STEP FIVE LINK]

CLASS LOCATION